The Panerai Source Forums

The Ultimate Panerai Discussion Forum!
It is currently Fri May 10, 2024 11:27 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2010 12:35 pm 
Panerai Regular
Panerai Regular

I believe the Pam 111 has a 6497 Swiss ETA movement with modification i.e. swan neck regulator.
I have seen the 6497 Asian ETA movement clones.
I am not a watch expert but the 6497 is a pretty simple, old and proven movement... I am curious what makes the huge difference... other than the Swiss movement is produced with Swiss workmanship and quality control ??? Is it really worth "50X more" than its Asian clone ???
I love the Panerai design they are truly a work of art, but...it seems their value is mostly in perception of exclusivity and assumed high level of workmanship and quality control. I'm sure I must be missing something...there has to be more than just the prestige of owning an authentic Panerai, so go ahead...tell me what an idiot I am ! :oops:

PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2010 9:04 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Well.. first of all, why do you think that the Cheap Fakes are popular? Because Panerai built a successful brand using their own marketing dollars an creativity. Its kind of like asking why Pirated Software is so cheap (FREE!) when buying the software cost so much. You are stealing intellectual property which is why its so cheap... like buying stolen electronics, always cheaper. Chinese replica manufacturers are leeches that steel and suck the designs of true innovators and sell to people who generally cannot afford (or don't care to afford) a nice watch. In my opinion, a true enthusiast would never support these places.

Additionally, the Asian clones do NOT have the same level of quality of finish, and if they did, they would cost substantially more as well. Probably closer to the cheaper Swiss Brands that spend less money on Marketing and Research, and not quite as much as Panerai.